The True and Splendid History of the Harristown Sisters

The True and Splendid History of The Harristown SistersThe True and Splendid History of The Harristown Sisters by Michelle Lovric
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I was a Michelle Lovric fan from the moment I started reading ‘The Book of Human Skin’. Amazing book that lives with me still – years after I first read it! So when I saw this book, I had to read it.

Was I disappointed? Not at all. The Swiney Godivas are quite simply wonderful.

Michelle Lovric really does do characters well. Seven sisters, all completely different in personality, simply jump off the page. You love Manticory, despise Darcy, feel strangely in the middle regards Berenice and Enda. Pertilly, Oona and Ida all have their roles to play and have very different if slightly strange mannerisms. You care what happens to them as they traverse this enforced world of show business.

The setting is incredibly vivid as it was in The Book of Human Skin. You can see the slow-crows of Harristown, hear the Grand Canal lapping at the buildings in Venice.

Quite simply, I loved this book. So much so, that today I was disappointed when I realised I didn’t have any more to read.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

